Square One

I was a late bloomer at Scripps.

I declared my major at the last minute, after considering close to everything. I ultimately declared a legal studies major. As backwards as it sounds, I realized after I declared it and took more classes in the major that it was my dream come true, and nothing could ever compare. My on-campus and summer jobs and programs have all been related to foreign languages, journalism, and education. All of these experiences were incredible, of course, and I grew in so many ways through them, but they only satisfied some of the very specific requirements that (apparently) need to be met to motivate me to go to work every day.

And I won’t get out of bed for anything less, doggone it!

But the bad news is that I’ve only really known all this for less than a year, so I have no work experience in government or law. I knew I needed to find a government internship this summer. Finding one was really hard. I’d had a bunch of great experience, but I just didn’t have the background to prove I could do the job. I applied to work on Capitol Hill, and didn’t get the internship. Honestly, I was so relieved. I knew I wasn’t ready yet.

So I scaled back. I went local.

I ended up getting an internship working for a really incredible lawmaker in my home state. I started my job a few weeks ago, and I really, really love it.

The office I’m working in has way fewer employees than does one on the federal level, especially since the state I live in is so small. My office has four full-time people plus me, and I never feel like I’m the smallest voice or the least important person in the room. But I am definitely the littlest fish in this pond—all four of my co-workers are so talented and experienced, and I am so lucky to get to absorb everything they’re teaching me.