Communicating Art

This summer I was the curatorial and development intern at LACE, a non-profit arts organization. With support from the Barbara Bice Internship in Public Interest, I lived in an apartment in downtown LA and worked four to five days a week, each day taking the train to Hollywood where I would emerge from underground to a bustling area with tall buildings. Its location gave LACE an edge and a lively energy.

Noor1

From day one, LACE became the highlight of my day. I’d take the back entrance, go up a steep flight of stairs, and enter the office. After a few weeks, LACE began to feel like a family.

In my first project at LACE I was assigned to be a week-long assistant to Jeanne Van Heeswijk, a prominent Dutch artist. Her project, Public Faculty No. 8 involved interviewing the public about Hollywood. This was completely new to me; as an artist, I had only worked with tangible mediums such as paint and pencil. To wander with Jeanne and ask passersby their thoughts was initially difficult for me to accept as art. Yet as we collected information I began to see an art project. There was a melancholic beauty in it; for example, on the same day we interviewed a famous hip-hop producer and a homeless man with cancer, creating a more rounded discourse about Hollywood. This project exposed me to the infinite possibilities of art, and showed me how different viewpoints can help create an accurate, complex painting of a subject.

Noor2

Soon, LACE began to prepare for “Native Strategies,” a group of performance artists set to create an art journal about communication through experimental sound composed of interviews and performances by LA-based artists. In preparation, the interns learned art handling, gallery preparation techniques, and how to use different tools. As the development intern, I was also responsible for donor and sponsor outreach.