Turning Lemons into Lemonade: Finding my Perfect Internship

(Part 2 of my series on my best and worst internship experiences)

During my sophomore year, as I prepared for my second summer as a college student, I was determined to tailor for myself the perfect summer. The previous summer, which I detail in my last blog post, was difficult, but I’d come out of it in one piece with a new level of self awareness. I had come to the conclusion that my negative experience had little to do with the program I was in, but also wasn’t entirely my fault. It simply had not been a good fit, and that was okay.

As I brainstormed what to do with the coming summer break, I took all the experiences of the previous summer, both positive and negative, into account. For example, here were a few of my problem-solving strategies that helped narrow down my choices

Problem: I had been wildly unhappy living on my own with no friends or family, in an unfamiliar big city.

Solution: Find an internship close enough to my friends and family that I could either live at home or commute back on the weekends.

Me at my job in SF

Me at my job in SF

Problem: I found working among a large team of my peers to be difficult, mainly due to hostile social dynamics. I wanted more personal freedom, and experience working independently.

Solution: Look at internships that involve working on a smaller team, one on one with an adult mentor, or within a group with more varied age ranges and diversity.

Problem: I felt that during the previous summer, I hadn’t pushed myself hard enough to try something new. I went for education because it was something I knew and understood, but the choice was ultimately wrong for me.

Solution: Apply for internships that seem out of reach, and challenge my conceptions of what I am, or am not, qualified to do. Try something with which I have little prior experience.

These were just the major factors I took into consideration.