Interview with Recent Scripps Grad

Q1 MN: When did you graduate and what was your major/minor? And where are you currently working/have worked since graduation.

SK: I graduated Class of 2016 as a Politics and International Relations major, with a Media Studies minor. I currently work at the Law Offices of Adam Green as an Immigration Paralegal.

Q2 MN: What has been the biggest challenge so far in post-grad life?

SK: Literally everything. You’re going from a fairly structured environment and lifestyle to one where you have to structure everything yourself. You have to find housing (you would appreciate hall draw because at least you know you’ll be housed in the end), you have to budget your money fairly well, understand how to do a lot of things on your own and stay on top of it (i.e. taxes, health insurance, transportation & how you’re going to commute to work, paying all your bills on time & etc), and still somehow manage to find time for yourself to do things you enjoy and give you a peace of mind because work is exhausting and draining both mentally and physically no matter what kind of job you have. Additionally, as an international student immigration issues are always the biggest challenges of living and working in the United States.

Unknown

Q3 MN: What do you miss most about Scripps?

SK: I miss being in an academic learning environment, having easy (and free) access to a wide variety of resources, close proximity to all my friends, and being able to attend all the stimulating lectures/events.

Q4 MN: What do you miss least/enjoy the most about life after Scripps?

SK: I love the independence I have and as challenging as this adjustment period has been, I feel so accomplished and proud of all that I have been able to manage on my own. Living in LA is also very exciting as there is always something to do, somewhere to go, people to meet, and great food to eat!

Q5 MN: How has your liberal arts degree helped you in your career/how does it set you apart?