What I wish I would have known when I graduated

Hello, from DC! My name is Francesca Jimenez, Scripps class of 2016. This summer, I will be guesting blogging for Beyond the Elms, something I enjoyed doing in my senior year. Since the year I’ve graduated, I’ve done a lot: moved across the country, transitioned from a part-time job to an internship to one full-time career building role, negotiated a salary, bought a car, and gone from receiving zero job offers senior year to having recruiters regularly reach out to me via LinkedIn. In the year since I’ve graduated, there has also been a lot I wish I knew or heard from others. A year ago, I would have had a difficult time imagining all of this and journey to it. I will always be on a journey, but I have just come across the wide bridge that I saw at graduation — what life after college and becoming an adult means — and have done what I needed to do to truly feel determined and empowered about that journey. This summer, I’m here to tell you about all that’s happened and all that I wish I knew. I’m also here to tell you that what you want and sent your mind to, is possible — not without lows and hurdles, but at a certain point, I hope you’ll be able to reflect and see the wide bridge you’ve come across.