Erin Delany ’20 received a We Act Grant for the summer of 2019. Read her testimonial below about her how she worked with the Corporation for National and Community Service. 

Headshot of Erin

Erin Delany (SCR ’20)

This summer, I spent two months in Washington, D.C. on a WeAct Grant from the Laspa Center. I was working for the Corporation for National and Community Service (CNCS), a government agency which supports nonprofits all over the United States and Territories through two overarching programs; AmeriCorps and Senior Corps.  

I interned at CNCS for the first time in the summer of 2018, after my junior year in college. I was a member of an intern cohort of five, working under the press secretary of CNCS’s Office of External Affairs. That summer I learned how to pitch a story to a reporter and how to format a press release, but I also gained valuable information about the way that CNCS’s National Service programs work.  

I was especially interested in AmeriCorps, which provides volunteer opportunities to Americans aged 18 and over, placing them on service tracks that allow them to volunteer on a team and travel the country, create sustainable solutions to fight poverty, or create change as an AmeriCorps member volunteering within a larger nonprofit.  

Erin at the Americorps Headquarters

Erin at the Americorps Headquarters

AmeriCorps is one of the largest unsung heroes of American volunteerism. Many Americans are unaware that organizations such as Teach for America, Habitat for Humanity, and City Year are all AmeriCorps programs; others are unaware that AmeriCorps even exists. During the summer of 2018 I had an opportunity to see some of the change that AmeriCorps effects in communities across the country, and I became passionate about increasing Millennial and Generation Z involvement in programs that make a difference in the lives of millions of US residents.