Grace Zhang ’23 received a We Act Grant for the summer of 2020. Read her testimonial below about her experience researching brain tumors and their treatments. 

headshot of Grace Zhang ’23

Grace Zhang ’23

This summer, I was awarded the remarkable opportunity of conducting research on pituitary adenomas remotely with the University of Washington Medical Center. Pituitary adenomas are benign tumors that affect the pituitary gland, a pea-sized organ in the brain that regulates hormones essential for many processes of the body. My research team analyzed pituitary adenomas, with the overarching endeavor of adding to the medical understanding of treatment options for these brain tumors.

Each lab member chose their own specialized topic to study. I studied a rare type of pituitary tumor called craniopharyngioma. As a survivor of craniopharyngioma, this lab research project really hit home for me. Having fought this benign brain tumor, I’m determined to contribute in any way I can to further scientific knowledge of craniopharyngioma and ultimately help other patients battling this brain tumor. In the beginning, I reinforced my understanding on how the pituitary gland utilizes regulatory feedback control systems to deliver hormones to its respective targets in the body. By studying numerous current review and research articles, I learned more about the impact craniopharyngiomas have on the pituitary system and other bodily functions. Finally, I analyzed the genetics behind craniopharyngiomas and how they might contribute to different treatment options for these tumors. After I finished my preliminary research, I presented a general overview of my topic at my lab meetings, which occurred a few times per week through Zoom.