Cultural Appropriation at College: The Secret Life of Tomorrow’s Leaders

Insensitivity to Native American culture and history was widespread in 2012, from political campaigns to pop culture. As a 5C student, I was disappointed to find this insensitivity echoed on my own campus.

In November alone, both No Doubt and Victoria’s Secret pulled content after charges of racism. No Doubt took down their music video “Looking Hot” due to its cowboys-and-Indians theme, which included headdresses, tepees, and smoke signals. Victoria’s Secret model Karlie Kloss donned a Native American headdress along with a leopard print bikini in the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show, which was edited out of the TV airing on December 4.

On the bright side, both these parties acknowledged their mistake. On the No Doubt website, No Doubt stated, “Our intention with our new video was never to offend, hurt or trivialize Native American people, their culture or their history. Although we consulted with Native American friends and Native American studies experts at the University of California, we realize now that we have offended people.”

Unfortunately, November was also home to a much more localized instance of cultural appropriation. Like at many college students across the country, I’ve found that the cultural sensitivity taught in our classes is rarely applied to nightlife. I have long since given up on CMC’s TNC parties (open to 5Cs half the time) being beacons of political correctness, given that their names seem to follow a simple equation: “(adjective) Bros and (adjective) Hoes.” Some highlights from my freshman year were “Gym Bros and Yoga Pants Hoes” and the delightfully sexist “Boss Bros and Secretary Hoes.”

This year TNC organizers outdid themselves this year with the proposed theme “Thanksgiving: Bros, Pilgrims and Navajos.” This was the theme that warranted The Student Life to write a story called “TNC Theme Proposal Draws Charges of Racism” last November.