How to make the most of Career Fairs

Last week, I attended a Consulting and Management Career Fair hosted by University College London where I am studying abroad. Personally, I approached the fair as a learning opportunity and as a platform to find out more about companies and their application processes. On the other hand, my flat mate came into the fair determined to get access to an internship and network with recruiters who could get him to that point. Both of these approaches are perfectly reasonable and depend on what you want to get out of the overall experience. After the fair, I began to think about how I can get the most out of these opportunities no matter what my expectations are. Here are some tips and tricks that I came up with to take advantage of career and grad fairs that you may attend:

1-Dress appropriately- Depending on what type of fair you are attending; it is commonplace to dress according to the occasion and the industry. For example, for most career fairs it is acceptable to simply dress nicely without having to be too formal. This means no sweatpants or pajamas, but does not necessitate a suit. For some specific industries, such as Investment Banking or Trading, it is more common to see people dressed in suits or business formal attire. Overall, there is no standard dress code, but I would dress in a manner that is both comfortable for you and strengthens your professional presence.

2-Bring multiple copies of your resume- Print out at least 5-10 copies of an updated resume in case someone you are talking to is interested in keeping one of them on file. You may not give out any resumes during the fair, but it is always a good idea to be prepared for every scenario.