Wrong major? I don’t think so.

When people ask me what my major is and then find out my career aspirations, they tend to have a confused look on their face. “You are a liberal arts major and you want to be a sports lawyer? Are you sure about that?” And of course, I respond with a yes and huge smile on my face.

For as far as I can remember, I have wanted to be a lawyer; but, it was not until I turned 10 years old that I knew exactly what kind of lawyer I wanted to be.  It was Sunday, October 26, 1997, when my family and I were celebrating my 10th birthday.  It was not a typical birthday celebration, it also happened to be the final game of the 1997 World Series.

Glued to the television, we watched as Edgar Renteria hit an RBI (run batted in) single in the 11th inning to win the World Series Championship!  The crowd on TV went wild and the excitement in the house was incredible. All of Miami awoke to the glory of the Florida Marlins: the people on the streets raised their Marlins flags while others drove around honking to celebrate the win.  It was at that moment that I knew I wanted to be a part of that excitement and passion.  However, I did not want to merely be a spectator – I wanted to be on the inside, representing my favorite baseball team, the Florida Marlins.

Now, that insight brings me to these two questions:

1. Can I still pursue the goal I made 12 years ago with my liberal arts education?
  2. How can I use my dual major in Latin American Studies and Hispanic Studies to pursue that goal?

Answer 1: Yes, and that is the beauty of a liberal arts education at the Claremont Colleges – I am free to explore my passions (i.e. law, sports, history, and writing).  I am a huge believer that it is extremely important to take classes that I feel passionate about and will enjoy doing the course work.  Hence, this semester I have managed to balance my course load with all of my passions: