My Favorite Hobby

Hello my name is Laura Nolan and I am addicted to writing grants. To me, I can’t understand why someone wouldn‘t enjoy writing them. Writing grants is satisfying, fascinating, and above all fun.

Now I recognize that it is sort of dorky to enjoy writing grants as much as I do, but really people. It is a worthwhile skill, whether or not you are looking to break into the nonprofit sector. And as it turns out, its pretty easy to get grantwriting experience around here. For starters, I have been writing baby grants for about two years before I realized it. Applying for SAS funding as a CLORG, requesting Motley funds… there are countless opportunities to ask for money at Scripps and viola! Instant grantwriting experience.

My baby grantwriting skills all came in handy when I took Professor Simeroth’s Writing for Non-Profits class. If you have the slightest bit of interest in the non-profit world I would highly recommend registering for the class. Last semester I wrote three grants, one of which was denied, one of which just made it to the next round, and one I am still waiting to hear back from. From this class I was also able to secure a wonderful grantwriting internship (more on that later) and now I count grantwriting as one of my favorite hobbies (I’m only slightly kidding here).

This semester I have written eight grants so far, some for the organization I work for, some for on campus projects, and some just for myself. Now the odds are slim when it comes to grantwriting but I figure with every grant I write I get better at it.

Last semester I conducted an informational interview (read: chat) with a Scripps alumnae who serves a director of development at a college. She told me that although in the development there are some really great talkers, she is oftentimes surprised with the quality of their writing. Luckily, as a students of a liberal arts college we get lots of practice with writing and grantwriting I’ve found is a great way to improve.