So you want to be a physics major (or any other major, for that matter)

I’ve been tutoring introductory physics for two years now, and there are many questions I have been asked every single year, often repeatedly.

“What is the difference between static and kinetic friction?”

“Why do I have to include gravity as a force?”

“Are the electric potential and electric potential energy the same?”

But there has been no question I have had to answer more often than any other.

“Why did you choose to be a physics major?”

(sigh.) I wanted to be a scientist. I don’t really know why, I just did. Maybe it was because my dad was a engineer. Maybe it was because science was such a respected subject in my family. Maybe it wasn’t so much that I wanted to be a scientist as it was that I stared up at the stars and wanted to walk among them. If you want the practical answer: I decided in high school I wanted to be an astronomer, and physics is possibly the single best undergraduate major to set someone up for a career in astronomy or astrophysics. So physics it was.

Until I realized I really didn’t like being in a lab. Or on a computer. Or analyzing reams and reams of data. So here I was, a year from graduation and pretty much done with my physics degree, no longer wanting to be any kind of scientist. Looking back it seems so ridiculous that it took me this long to realize that lab work is not for me. The signs were all there; I loved reading, writing, and all things creative. I almost never went to outside lectures, or had science discussions outside of class. I loved debating humanities, philosophy, and social science topics. But I was determined that I wanted to be a scientist.