The love affair with visas

Visas tend to be an irritating obstacle and painfully long process that one has to face when studying, visiting, or working in a different country. Luckily, as an international student, I have come to learn all about them.

Currently, I am on a student visa, which means that I get to stay in the States for 5 years starting with my first year at Scripps. Having that extra year allows me to work after graduation, but within those 12 months I need to apply for a working visa, which can be even more difficult and take a longer time to obtain. Though many students are American and do not face these challenges here, you will probably have to if you go abroad to work or study in a different country.

Whether you want to become a guide in the Mongolian Gobi desert, an English teacher in Argentina, or work at a bank in Switzerland, and you are not a passport-holder from any of those countries, you are going to have to get a visa. Lucky you!

Here are a few points that I have found helpful and useful over the years and hopefully for more to come:

1. Organize yourself and get all the paperwork done early. In my sophomore year, I was so nervous about not being able to intern in New York that I made sure to find an internship by November and have my summer-working visa by the end of January. Of course, it is not always going to pan out this way, but it’s smart to stay on top of the whole process.
  2. Talk to someone who knows about visas or has gone through a visa experience. They tend have great advice, some of which you would never find anywhere else. If you’re an international student, I-Place is a great place to start.