Application Do’s and Don’ts

As I’m waiting to hear back from internships I applied for, I’ve been thinking a lot about what I did well on my applications and resume, and what I could do to improve my tailoring-technique in the future. I’m a newbie to the “real” job and internship search, and have been slowly but surely learning the do’s and don’ts of application writing.

Here are some things I’m glad I learned…

1)   I learned from CP&R to always have a few words key ideas you want to emphasize in each part of your application – these may be enthusiasm, customer service skills, leadership qualities, etc. Also, sticky-notes are your friend to make a list!

2)   Something I learned from a friend of mine who now does freelance application and resume editing is CONTINUITY. While it’s tempting to be completely well-rounded or wishy-washy about exactly what you want to do in the future, it is better to state your purpose for applying to the particular position in your cover letter, and use that purpose as a thread throughout your entire application. In my last application, I chose those I wanted to pursue a career in performing arts management, and always brought back my answers to how the particular internship would prepare me for such a career.

3)   Something people don’t tell you to do, but always appreciate, is to add some humanity to your application. It should, of course, be formal, but a well-placed comment can let your personality come across on paper. For example, I recently mentioned in my cover letter for an internship in Copenhagen that despite my first encounter with Denmark being on a very grey, snowy, winter day, I managed to appreciate the radiance I found in their arts and culture. On another application, I let it be known I expect to make coffee-runs as an intern to make their office run smoothly. It is easy to want to talk yourself up in an application (which you should!) but it’s always good to have some humility.