Why I am majoring in philosophy

I am a philosophy major. I entered college knowing that I want to major in philosophy and the courses I’ve taken in the past academic year have solidified that decision. The question that very understandably follows is some variation of “WHY?” to varying degrees of politeness. Some people ask with curiosity which I appreciate and others ask with an audible scoff (umm rude). If I got a flex dollar every time I’ve been asked why I’m majoring in philosophy I seriously will not run out of flex for the rest of my college career, or the rest of my life actually. Just as a preface, I don’t try to convince people to major in philosophy because it’s not going to be the right choice for many. I do, however, try to open people up to the major as an option to consider or at least to taking a philosophy class.

So why am I a philosophy major? I feel like the question of why I’m a philosophy major is generally presented in such a way that is really implicitly asking what the heck I’m going to do with a philosophy major in the world ‘out there’ in terms of career options (as opposed to why I, personally, want to major in it). In other words, people are really asking, “What are you going to do with degree in it?”. I will answer this question by addressing the most common concerns.

Concern #1: The subject is just not relevant to everyday life because it is a bunch of theory.

Firstly, yeah there is theory involved but why assume that theory is irrelevant to life? Just for funsies, go on Wikipedia, go to a random article, click on the first hyperlinked word, do this a couple of times, and you’ll land on an article that has something to do with philosophy. Also, philosophy is directly relevant to everyday life in that it encourages people to literally questions everyday life raising questions such as what does it mean to live a good life, under what conditions are beliefs justified, what is the ethical thing to do.