Sharks, Embarrassing Moments, and Networking…

Networking is the most terrifying thing ever. (And I scuba dive 100 feet below sea level with sharks, which aren’t even the most dangerous part of that scenario. Needless to say, I know scary.) It is also awkward. (I’m also an expert in awkward. I fell on my face, for no apparent reason, on to concrete in front of the library the other day in front of at least 40 people. I wish that was the first time that happened. Again, trust me. I know awkward.) There have been quite a few times in my life when I have blatantly refused to do it. However, we’re more than halfway through March, and I still don’t have a job for the summer. So, I’m wishing I started this networking thing a little sooner.

Since I started to connect with friends and family to ask them about job opportunities, I’ve had two interviews. I would NEVER have had those interviews if it weren’t for networking. In fact, I’m not sure I would have gotten my internship at the St. Louis Zoo if it weren’t for networking. (And I was VERY reluctant to do it when I was applying two years ago.)

Now I’m older and wiser, and I’m lucky enough to have other older and wiser friends who want to help me find opportunities. As I said, it’s now March and I still don’t have an internship for the summer, so I’m very willing to accept, and even ask for, help now.

I’m starting to see the benefits too, even more than the getting-my-foot-in-the-door perk. I’ve been denied from four jobs so far because I “don’t have enough experience.” WELL OF COURSE I DON’T HAVE ENOUGH EXPERIENCE, I’M 21 AND I ONLY DECIDED I WANTED TO WORK IN THIS FIELD LAST AUGUST. This internship is supposed to be my opportunity to start getting experience! People say that, in college, you should explore all your interests and not pin yourself down immediately. Subsequently, you’re punished for doing so because you don’t have the requisite experience for any careers you finally decide to pursue…