Marhaban! Introducing Elisabeth

Marhaban, or hello! I’m Elisabeth and I’m so excited to start blogging for Beyond the Elms this semester! I’m a sophomore and have been proud to call Scripps College my home for the past year and a half. While it has taken me a long time to decide what I want to study, I am an English and Middle East & North African Studies (MENA) major with a potential Late Antique-Medieval Studies (LAMS) minor. You may be thinking, “Elisabeth, I get the whole English major concept, but what is MENA and LAMS?” Well, my new friends, MENA is an interdisciplinary major that centers on the study of the Arabic language, culture, literature, politics, and history–basically I study Arabic language, history, and literature. LAMS is essentially me taking classes about Islam and medieval Arab history with my favorite professor.

So now comes the question my parents have been asking since day one: what do you want to do with that? Well, I’m not sure that I want to do anything with my majors directly, but I would be interested in potentially teaching English–abroad or in the US–or working in diplomacy. However, my real interest for many, many years has been in law. My dad is a lawyer and I’ve always had the idea of being a lawyer in the back of my mind. Now that I’m a sophomore, I’ve decided to start making that dream a reality. English is actually a fairly common major for students who go into law, so that correlates fairly well to my career goals.

First impressions are all about the smile :)

First impressions are all about the smile 🙂