Things I Learned This Summer

Let’s all start with a pretty basic post, the classic, “what I did this summer.” Well… this summer I was an intern at the McChrystal Group.

What is the McChrystal Group, you may ask?

It is a management consulting firm which helps companies gain “New Rules of Engagement for a Complex World.” (Yes, I did steal that tagline, not from the website, but from the book Team of Teams written by the founders). By now you should have read that line five times, and are perhaps still confused about what that means. Here is the short answer: Companies do not work, nor is it effective to work, in hierarchical structures. Instead, they are a networked team of teams, and to create a successful adaptive company, leaders should take the best aspects of teamwork in small teams and apply them to the company. Now of course there are many aspects to this, but that would take many more pages (288 pages to be exact).

Let’s move past the jargon of what the company does and move into what I learned while working there this summer.

When I first decided to intern here, I had one small worry (OK, maybe it was a big worry). Generally speaking, this internship really sounded like it had very little to do with my majors (Anthropology and STS), especially considering my background with computer science, and my desire to eventually work in a tech company.  It was something that people would often comment on.  I got encouraging and helpful responses (there is a hint of sarcasm here) like, “this sounds like an interesting job, but I don’t really understand why YOU are doing it.” and  “What does it have to do with your major?” This leads directly to the first important point that I discovered this summer:

1. Just because an internship doesn’t seem directly related to your major OR even what you might do in five years, it can still be an amazing developmental experience.