Yes, I’m a Media Studies Major: Part 2

09Part 2: Defending the Choice

“Hello!  My name is Claire Pukszta and I am a Media Studies major and Theater minor at Scripps College, in Claremont, California.  Nice to meet you!”

A fairly standard issue introduction.  Perfect for the professional setting.  However there are a few key parts of my introduction that usually warrant some confused looks, raised eyebrows, or this response…

Tv Land Good Job GIF by #Impastor - Find & Share on GIPHY

I will forever be explaining where I went to school as well as what I majored in.  Scripps College, while highly ranked and well esteemed, is not a college that slips off people’s tongues like Berkley or UCLA.  And I in coming to Scripps I expected to be forever giving the speech, “Well Scripps is a small, women’s liberal arts college….” You probably know the rest.  It would be a lot easier too if I could just say I was a Psychology or Business major in addition to going to Scripps.  These are fields of study that are fairly consistent in content across institutions.  After becoming enthralled with and deciding to be a Media Studies Major, all I could think to myself was “one more thing to explain”.