In Which Valinda Points Out The Obvious

This is important: remember your resources.  Talking to Valinda and having a bit of a whine and cheese party, I stumbled upon a really obvious point: I’m going to be in the same town as a Board of Trustees member for a few days, and I should really try to take advantage of that.  Beyond the fact that I was a student rep on the BOT last year, I am aware of her existence because I worked really closely with Advancement and the Annual Fund for four years, so she’s always peripherally existed for me.

At one of these meetings, I should have introduced myself rather directly to this Scripps Board member. At the time, I found this alum formidable (in the best way possible): she’s razor-sharp intelligent and exceptionally good at her job.  She is executive staff member in Development at a college I’m making a social call to in the coming weeks, and, as Valinda gently pointed out, would be a truly excellent resource if she was both inclined and available.

So I drafted an email, and Valinda is kindly looking over it, and also very politely not teasing me about missing the obvious.

Despite my publicly-declared “whimsical” love of well-decorated cupcakes, I’m a very practical person and like having concrete steps I can take.  This tendency makes it difficult to complete tasks that don’t have quantifiable steps; small talk, for example, is something I have to remind myself to do when I have a concrete goal in a conversation.  I am an INTJ, and it shows.

Emailing an alum, calling their office, or otherwise making contact seems difficult to me because I am unfamiliar and thus uncomfortable with the steps.  This communication difficulty might be a quirk particular to me, but I’ll assume not and share the steps I’ve taken so far in hopes that someone finds it helpful.

1. Had Valinda point out the obvious (optional step)