Jeg har et job i Danmark!: I have a job in Denmark!

My brain is trying to wrap my head around what I’ve just done. I’ve written a lot of emails in my life, but few have sent extreme chills through my spine. I’ve rarely cried after pressing “Send.” But this time…this time was definitely different.

I can’t keep it quiet any longer…I GOT A JOB! And not only did I get a job, I got my DREAM JOB. And not only did I get my dream job, I just ACCEPTED my dream job!

So, what is this dream job you may ask? Well, it’s quite a long story, actually…but let me take you back to Spring 2010, when it all started. During my spring semester junior year, I studied abroad in Copenhagen, Denmark through the Danish Institute of Study Abroad (DIS). The program is one of the most well-known study abroad programs in Europe, and has around 650 American university students enroll each semester. I was part of the Psychology and Child Development sub-program, along with about 75 other students. While a student there, I learned about an internship program where DIS hires former students to be the program assistant for each of the different sub-programs. The intern is kind of like the “face” of the program in general: whenever I needed anything or had an issue or question, I talked to the current intern. And as time went on, I become more and more interested in the role that the intern played in the organization – what did she do exactly? Did she like it? Is this a possible job for me in the future? Naturally, I wanted these questions answered, so I took the time to sit down with the current intern and ask her about her job. She gave me a lot of insight into what the awesome parts of the job and some of the challenges, but overall it was obvious that she enjoyed it. I put all of this information in the back of my mind.