“I’m Too Young For An Internship”

As second semester is finally in full swing, Scripps students are courageously looking forward to their summer vacation. Although summer vacation is more than three months filled with the company of family, friends, delicious barbecues, and beautiful weather there is anxiety attached with summer months and leaves students asking a commonly heard question: should I get an internship?

While it is true that I am rather new to finding internships, I’ve recently heard about the ambitious nature of internships with regards to first years.  From the perspective of a first year, the word internship is extremely intimidating.  It is already enough to have to worry about making and maintaining friends and not failing classes, but to search for an internship seems like a rather ambitious task. But hear me out freshman (or anyone who is afraid to apply for one) as I explain my rationale as to why we shouldn’t be afraid to try and why we are all extremely qualified.

Up until a week ago, I didn’t believe I was worthy or qualified enough to apply for an internship. I would have only had one year of college, and besides I’m not even positive as to what I want to major in. Who wants to hire an intern who isn’t even sure what they want to do with their life? But as I thought more about it, my “internship mentality” completely changed.

First off, having a year of college under your belt is in fact a huge accomplishment. While it is true that the Claremont Colleges are known for their high retention rates and being home to some of the happiest students in the nation, college drop out rates are unfortunately always rather high. Therefore, I finally have realized that for me to doubt the significance of a year of college was silly and was only stoping me from accomplishing my ambitions.