Create A Linkedin Profile: The First Step To Building Your Career

linkedin-network-1940x1122

Employers will Google you before they even invite you to an interview. It is a statement that spreads far and wide. I don’t know if all employers do so, but I know some definitely do. So far, I have received two interview invitations and one part-time job offer through my Linkedin connections. I am not an expert at building personal brand on Internet but I know I definitely did something right with my Linkedin profile. So before stepping into the professional world, you may want to create a Linkedin profile and take control of your professional brand and the impression you make to fellow professionals and potential employers. Here’s my five secret (not really…) steps to build a successful Linkedin profile.

First Step. Choose A Professional Profile Picture 

Your profile picture is the first impression you make on Linkedin and it is worth a thousand words. Don’t add a picture that will leave people lost for words or confused.

06324b5

Here’s some tips for taking/choosing a professional profile picture that can truly make you shine:

First step: 

Use a high quality headshot or a half-length picture of YOU (not you and your best friends or your cute puppy)

While taking pictures remember to:
Smile confidently with your eyes
Wear business casual or business formal
Light make-up is preferable

*If you are still unsure what the RIGHT profile picture looks like, Go To CP&R’s Linkedin-profile-picture taking event during Life After Scripps Week Saturday October 1st

Second Step. Craft a headline

Now your confident smile and professional attire has attracted people’s attention. But you still need do one more thing to boost the chance that fellow professionals and potential employers click on your name, read your profile and then accept your connection request (or even actively invite you to connect) – Create a compelling headline.