Don’t Cry Over Spilled Latte Foam

This past weekend, I was lucky enough to participate in a “latte art workshop” with a few of my Motley Coffeehouse co-workers, at Klatch Coffee in Rancho Cucamonga.

Whenever I go home for breaks and tell family and friends that I work part-time as a barista, I always have to embarrassingly admit that I can’t actually make pretty latte art-or any latte art for that matter. So when I saw that the Motley was offering free workshops at Klatch Coffee for baristas, I was elated; This was my chance to work on being a better barista, and I was definitely going to take advantage of it.

When the workshop started, I became oddly nervous. My hands were shaky and I was spilling milk left and right. In the car ride over, one of the Motley managers who was with me had been detailing how successful and impressive Heather (the person who was leading the workshop) is. This definitely made me more nervous. I didn’t want to mess up too badly, or look like a complete disgrace of a barista in front of someone who really knows what she’s doing. You see, Heather Perry is really, really good at what she does. She holds the 2003 and 2007 United States Barista Champion titles, plus the 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2007 Western Regional Champion titles. She also finished 2nd in the world at the 2007 Barista Championships, and holds numerous other honors and awards, and is now currently the Director of Training and Consulting at Klatch Coffee.

I think you can all understand why I would be nervous about making latte art in front of someone with those types of credentials. I definitely had fun learning how to make cool designs out of milk foam, but I also found myself getting legitimately frustrated and mad at myself when my latte art came out looking like oblong blobs rather than symmetrical hearts and leaves.

What I wish my latte art looked like...

What I wish my latte art looked like…

...What my latte art actually likes like.