Hello, Stranger!

Class introductions were different for me this fall. When asked to state my year and major, I was confident in my answer: I am a sophomore and I dual major in English and legal studies. My answer was completely different just last year. In high school one of my best subjects was history, specifically global studies. Although I took the class my senior year, it was the first class I ever took that focused on current events and the contemporary issues that plague our modern society, such as genocide and nuclear warfare. I loved that class and it left a considerable impression on me. For a long time I wanted to major in history and international relations, what I believed would be a perfect segue into a career in politics or at least law school.

I am a “planner”. I enjoy planning everything down to even the minutest details. Before I started classes last fall I had eight Excel files saved on my laptop. They were titled “Fall 2011”, “Spring 2012”, “Fall 2012”… and so on. I had planned every semester from Fall 2011 to Spring 2015 complete with alternatives (Just in case a class I wanted to take filled up or was not offered that semester.) and even a list of potential work-study jobs. You probably think I am crazy and perhaps a little obsessive, but I find that a fair number of my fellow Scrippsies are also planners (though not quite as outrageous as myself). This past week I had the opportunity to meet a small handful of first year students and they are truly some of the most incredible people I have met. (One of them is a stand up comedian and she has been one for quite some time…and to think she is only eighteen years old!).