Life Lessons & Lobster

As it gets time to frantically apply to every possible internship and summer program, I want to take a moment and acknowledge everyone who – by choice, by necessity, by both – will be working in the service industry this summer. I worked as a hostess at a corporate, popular seafood restaurant the summer after my first year, and what I learned there will stick with me for life. Thanks to friends A and E, who augmented this with their excellent suggestions. Sadly, people in the real world aren’t always reasonable, thoughtful, or interested in hearing your side of the story. Pull up a chair, everyone, and let us impart our wisdom.

Multitasking. It was common, at my corporate seafood restaurant – hereafter shortened to CC – to have a manager stroll up, request that something be done immediately, and stroll away, completely ignoring the fact that I was busy doing something another manager had commanded mere moments ago. Too many cooks, all that broth, you know the story. The first time this happened, I tried to explain how I was in the midst of something Manager X had requested, and could they perhaps ask someone else? Manager Y looked at me blankly and I could sense they were forming a pretty negative opinion of me – What a shirker! Tries to worm out of anything I ask of her! The next time this happened, I was prepared. I thanked Manager Y, said I would deal with their request as soon as I finished what Manager X had asked of me, and rushed off busily. Both tasks were soon completed and Manager Y was pleased that she didn’t have to deal with a long-winded explanation. Moral of the story: don’t explain every side of the story. Acknowledge the request, note that you’ll get on it as soon as the job at hand is complete, and move on.